AFTERNOON IN HMONG VILLAGE IN XIENG KHOUANG, LAOS

These photos are from my afternoon visit to Hmong village during my most recent trip to Laos in November 2013. I visited the northern town of Xieng Khouang, Laos, and drove about 45 minutes from the mountain top town to get to the village. It was a privilege to be able get a glimpse of what a normal day was like in Hmong village; it certainly was a humbling experience.

Initially, I was going to accompany these photos with a lot of captions and writing, but I have decided against and instead I will write more in future posts. I have a lot of photos from various trips to different areas of Laos which I will share later on.

Hmong is one of the 60 or so ethnic groups in Laos, the most heavily bombed country of all time, and Xieng Khouang is one of the areas most affected by the years of bombings which took place during and after the Vietnam War.My afternoon visit in Hmong village was bittersweet; the smiles on the children’s faces reminded me of the innocence inherent in children, while the the bomb casings used to make water containers for livestock and stilts for houses/buildings/structures were evidence of a horrific event in the history of the country that many today dub the “Jewel of the Mekong.”

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

